TheSecretCostumier - Kimono dress
From scratch

The kimono dress, finally

Do you remember the silk(y) fabric that I got for about £5 a few weeks ago? The one that I planned to turn into a kimono dress, inspired by a dress from the 70s? Long story short, I finished it, without a proper pattern but with hours spent just ripping seams. It was the most complicated piece to put together that I have ever made, and the one I will probably wear the least. It is beautiful to look at on the hanger though…TheSecretCostumier-Kimonodressd1 TheSecretCostumier-Kimonodress2Oh, and let me show you the first ever gif that I made to demonstrate the kimono sleeves in full swing. (You can find a great tutorial about making gifs in Photoshop in about 2 minutes here.) Sorry about the mess around me, this was supposed to be the test shoot before we go out, but I got annoyed with the Sunday audience on the street, and forgot to take the proper photos. Check out how stationary my hair is. NASA should examine it, ha! 🙂

gifkimono4After finishing yet another dress that has improved my sewing skills and would be perfect for a special occasion, I decided to focus on making everyday clothes for myself and not to buy anything new from now on. I am still working on laying down the rules and setting exceptions, but I am pretty determined to do this for at least a year, so watch this space!

Standard

15 thoughts on “The kimono dress, finally

    • Well thank you!! It’s not that hard do draft it yourself, but I found a similar pattern from the part under the bust. If you happen to have a Burda Style magazine from June/2012, then you’ll find the designer dress pattern which is pretty similar to what I came up with. As for the kimono sleeves, you’ll find the instructions following the link in the previous post. Good luck with it! 🙂

  1. Your dress turned out beautifully! It looks fantastic on you, so I hope you get more wearings of it than your original assessment! Congratulations on your success! If you struggled with it you learned from it, so not only did you get a dress, but you gained the experience too. 🙂

    • Thanks a lot! Unfortunately nobody have seen it so far, other than the curious neighbours when we took the photos! 😉 But hopefully I made it well enough so that it will stand the test of time, and I’ll be able to wear years later…

    • Well, thank you!! I love kimonos too, and was going to make just that, but I figured I would have to constantly struggle to keep it closed on top with the silky fabric…so this dress was born. 🙂

  2. Pingback: That Dior dress? Finished! | The Secret Costumier

  3. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2014: Week 3 | The Secret Costumier

  4. Pingback: Me-Made-May-2014: The Summary | The Secret Costumier

  5. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2015: Week 3…or 4 | The Secret Costumier

  6. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2015: Week 3…or 4 | The Secret Costumier

  7. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2016: Week 3 | The Secret Costumier

Leave a Reply

