Me-Made-May 2014, Ready & waiting

Me-Made-May 2014: Week 3

   I can’t believe the 3rd week of May is gone already! I also can’t believe that there is 2 more to go…Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy getting creative and wearing things differently, but they don’t call it a challenge for nothing! It’s funny how for me it’s hard to get all summery in this sudden hot weather with my mostly autumn appropriate me made wardrobe, while for others it’s exactly the opposite. We all make it work somehow, don’t we? 🙂

TheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - Day 13

    On Monday the fear of repeating outfits made me go into panic mode, and I made a top before dinner out of scrap fabric (Day 13 Velvet top). Yeeey.  My favorite outfit this week was probably the Friday outfit (Day 16) which looked professional enough at work, was fun to have dinner in, and was I little braver, I could have taken my shirt off and dance in the bustier at night too. I wasn’t though, but the top’s been in the making since August last year, and I just had to wear it out. The same goes for the Kimono dress. Tied up and dressed down, it finally made it out of my home and into the streets of London. What a glorious day it was! 😉 (Except for the realization that it is either not silk or it was pretty damn hot in London on Sunday!)

Me-Mades this week:

 

Standard

11 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2014: Week 3

  1. Your spontaneous velvet top is perfection! I love the colour and asymmetrical peplum.
    It’s the total opposite for me too – I have been living in warm tights just so I can wear all my dresses and skirts!

    • I am so jealous, I love autumn and just can’t deal with the heat (this is London, so “heat” is a little exaggerated, but it’s still balmy 🙂 ). I guess it’s harder for you as your summery clothes are made for real hot summers in light coloured and lightweight fabric, so it’s not that easy to just layer them with all the usually darker coloured stuff for colder weather, but wearing coloured tights is a very good idea! The top is great, I just wish I wasn’t so brave when I cut it shorter…

  2. Love these outfits! I’m very inspired by your style! You put things together with such a cool, modern sensibility. I love the buster top, such a great idea to layer it under the shirt, so you are ready for a night out 🙂
    I clearly also need a leather skirt, it looks amazing with so many of your pieces.
    So funny how we are facing the exact opposite challenges with our MM-wardrobes!

    • Thank you very much! 🙂 It really is crazy. I think there should be a Self-Sewn-September or something, so that we switch and you get to try how your wardrobe works in transition into summer and we would get to try to make ours ready for fall.

  3. Geo P says:

    I see you love your Chucks! 🙂
    I love your velvet top and your pink trousers and, well, everything else. I was looking at the Day15 photo and I was thinking “I wonder what item she made here. It’s probably the top”. Sorry! The trousers look great, I love that style. What pattern did you use?

    • Thanks! I was thinking about bringing out some shoes that stay in the closet for about 364 days a year, but since I’m riding every day and wearing trainers most of the time, I felt that it would be cheating. Also, I do love ’em! 🙂 It’s so funny, sometimes I have the same thoughts when I see an outfit and go crazy about one of the garments, just to find out that it’s RTW! The trousers were made using a Burdastyle pattern I believe, but it was back when I took a sewing class, so it was whatever they used to teach us, and I modified it slightly to my own taste.

  4. I love the Chuck Taylors! Especially with the wrap dress. I live in them and me current pair is at the very end of its lifespan. So bittersweet!

    • Thank you! I’ve just discovered a little hole on it too, luckily they are not even Converse, so no heartbreak here. 😉 it’s such a classic, isn’t it!:)

  5. Pingback: Me-Made-May: Week 4 | The Secret Costumier

Leave a Reply

