Me-Made-May 2014, Ready & waiting

Me-Made-May 2014: Week 5

    This is it. The last week of my first ever Me-Made-May. In many ways this was the hardest, yet most exciting week of all, and I managed to wear 7 outfits including a Me-Made item during the week (one of which is not photographed). The big discovery this week was the fact that I can take pictures by using a voice command on my phone. Oh my God guys! I’ve spent the most hilarious 30 minutes playing dressing up, as I had to repeatedly shout “cheese” or “shoot”. Obviously it does not work all the time, so I had to concentrate on pronouncing it right, trying to make my mouth look as if it was shut, sucking the belly in, keeping my back straight, trying not to cross my legs ALL THE TIME…oh, and smile! I failed miserably 99 times out of 100, often running for shelter when a neighbour walked by our window, but I only needed one photo of each outfit anyway… 🙂

    I’m not sure if my subconscious was influenced by seeing all the lovely Netties appearing everywhere, but I brought my RTW versions out of the wardrobe a few times too, as you can see I’m a lover of the bodysuit (wearing one on Day 26, Day 29, Day 31).

    My favourite attire this week was probably the one I was wearing on Day 27. I love wearing monochrome outfits, although it looked more cool and less lazy in my head. 🙂

    My least favourite was the one with the self drafted disaster that resembles a pair of silk jogging trousers. It’s everything I wanted: high-waisted, kind of snug around my bum and loose on my calves, with rolled up hems and all, but it started off as something totally different and ended up being too tight to be the comfy pants you can just throw on and still look kind of chic. I’ll take some better photos of it one day, as I have not declared it unwearable as of yet, since you know… I’ve worked my ass off making them, plus I kind of invented a way to wear the same trousers with high and low waist. Yeey!

TheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - Day 25TheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - Day 26TheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - Day 27TheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - Day 29 TheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - Day 30bTheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - Day 31ATheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - Day31BbbTheSecretCostumier - Me Made May - The End2

Me-Mades this week:

In a few days time I’m planning on wrapping this little baby called Me-Made-May up, drawing conclusions, identifying gaps, connecting ideas to the Wardrobe Architect project, you know, just the things one does after a month like this…

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2014: Week 5

  1. I have a voice activated timer on my phone too, when I use it I have even resorted to making a weird ‘mmm’ noise to activate it because I don’t like pictures of myself with my teeth showing haha fun times!
    Your MMMay outfits have been so inspiring to me!! I know I have said this before, but I really love your style and the way you put things together!
    I love your day 26 pants (adorable with the rtw nettie-like top) can’t believe they were the first pants you ever made! Perhaps there’s hope for me yet! re pants-making! 🙂

    • Well, thanks again for the compliments, that’s very kind of you!
      It must be hilarious for the onlookers when you’re using the voice activated timer, I guess you have to do it pretty loud to get it work! 🙂 I have the same preference regarding teeth showing shots, although for some reason even if I feel like the corners of my mouth are touching my eyes I’m smiling so hard, I still look miserable, so I have to show the teeth…Have you not made pants before? I thought I saw a pair of gingham trousers on your blog and really loved them (see the Wardrobe Architect project inspiration pictures…). Those trousers were made under supervision and I still managed to make a little mistake, but it’s not that hard if you know where to stop with the alterations!

  2. Ah, congratulations on a great Me Made May. Mine didn’t go very well at all, May was a crappy crappy month, but…the process did help me to work out what I need and want to add to my wardrobe.

    I love your style and, I particularly like the pants that you’re undecided about! And your first pair of trousers look like a really good fit too.

    Also, loving the idea of your voice controlled photo taking – I should check my phone, I haven’t figured out how to do outfit posts (without help from someone else).

    All the best
    Susie

    • Hi Susie thank you! I have just written about all the reasons why those trousers don’t quite work, but it’s nice to hear that they don’t look as bad as I sometimes think they do.
      I think that’s the aim of the Me-Made May really, to make you look at your clothes in a different way, and if you succeeded in that, then that’s the important thing. For me, keeping up with it was surprisingly useful to keep up with blogging, as I can be very bad at being here consistently, and knowing that I’ll have something to share weekly was a good reason to stretch my little wardrobe as much as I could.
      I really hate the photo taking part exactly because I have to involve someone and waste their time a little, so this is a step forward for sure, but like I wrote, it still needs perfecting. Kath suggested to use an app that takes multiple photos with a timer, which I’m willing to give a try to as well. 😉

Leave a Reply

