Me-Made-May 2015, Ready & waiting

Me-Made-May 2015: The first 15 days

Aaand I’m doing Me-Made-May too! Well, I’ve been doing it very privately up until now, but it’s time you saw my pledge and the photos documenting the first half of the month. Yeey! 🙂

‘I, Etemi of The Secret Costumier, sign up as a participant of Me-Made-May ’15. I endeavour to wear me-mades as many days as possible during May 2015’

I must admit I was way more excited doing it for the first time – last year, but that might just be because now I have so many handmade clothes that it doesn’t feel like a big challenge anymore. Also, while I really don’t mind repeating outfits, it’s not very exciting when I think about sharing photos of them. For next year I will hopefully be able to pledge to wear me-mades only, which should make things more exciting.

TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 1TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 2

Day 1: Wearing a refashioned thrift store skirt on the first day. I love the jumper (RTW) and pretty much every outfit including it. The skirt is a pencil skirt that can be unbuttoned all the way to the top, so that I can cycle comfortably in it.

Day 2, 3 & 4: Bank holiday weekend spent at home. Leggings made in 15 minutes from an OTT stretchy material bought for testing patterns… Joy. 🙂

TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 5TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 6

Day 5: Wearing a draped dress, with my favourite breton top. This is a pretty versatile dress which happened to be my second attempt at draping, but the invisible zipper needs to be replaced urgently!

Day 6: It’s barely visible, but that’s one of my 3 velvet skirts. It’s a jade green colour in case you were wondering…

TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 7TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 8

Day 7: This is the second version of the backless dress which is a modified version of this Burda number. It was not quite time to wear it in its full backless glory yet, hence the 90’s styling.

Day 8: The latest addition to my velvet circle skirt family – a black one.

TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 10TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 11

Day 10: Wearing the velvet scrap top (made from the leftovers of the velvet skirt – Day 14) and the refashioned jeans. I’m not loving the top, but it makes me feel kind of good that I could save that much fabric from going into a landfill.

Day 11: It was pretty chilly, and I felt uninspired, so opted for the good old military jacket.

TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 12TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 13

Day 12: Oh those red pants! I’ve just gotten some oil on the legs while cycling to Brighton :(. In other news, it fits really nicely straight out of the washing machine, but gets about a size and a half bigger by the end of the day. It’s either plain weird or I’ve cut the waistband on the bias and I shouldn’t have. You be the judge.

Day 13: This marks my first attempt at cutting a pattern on the bias (on purpose)! It’s a copy of my sister’s beautiful little camisole and it turned out quite nicely. It’s made from some poly remnant and was supposed to be a muslin, but I realized that I can actually make it work with some bolder pieces like this skirt/trouser loveliness that I bought in Thailand recently.

TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 14TheSecretCostumier - Me-Made-May 2015 - Day 15

Day 14: Velvet skirt numero 3 – or the number one, in the prettiest rust colour out there. Still my favourite (I think I am overusing this word now, so forget the others this is the actual fave)!

Day 15: Attempting to cycle to Brighton from London. I have worn this outfit during the first week already, but I thought it deserves another mention as it took me from work, to cycling through forests (thanks for the misguidance Google) and since I got oil on those red trousers, it took me straight into the many pubs of Brighton too.

I got back from 3 weeks in South East Asia recently, which was undoubtedly the best holiday I have ever been on, and since I made quite a few garments for the trip, I will inevitably flood this blog with holiday photos at some point. So here are a few from the weekend just to warm you up. They are mostly of the area around the Ditchling Beacon (it’s this very steep hill with a nice view) near Brighton, which might not be the most appropriate route for a heavy old city bike and someone who has never ridden outside the city…

TheSecretCostumier - Ditchling

TheSecretCostumier - Ditchling

3

4

5

TheSecretCostumier-Brighton

Standard

12 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2015: The first 15 days

  1. I’m loving your outfits, and wow! You’re brave cycling from London to Brighton – did you cycle back again? I avoid driving up Ditching Beacon, so I can’t imagine cycling it can be that fun.

    • Hi Laura, thank you! I actually only made it from Caterham (which is where zone 6 ends, so officially still London) to Horley, which is right before Gatwick. This is a quite pathetic 12 miles, but I pushed the bike uphill for half of it, so it was a bit disappointing. Which is why I took the train back to Hassocks from Brighton the following day, pushed the bike up the Beacon and rolled back down again. You are right, the Beacon was not fun, but once you’re on the top, it’s amazing. It pretty much felt like climbing the Everest, or something. 🙂

Leave a Reply

