thesecretcostumier-new-york22

TheSecretCostumier - New York7

TheSecretCostumier - New York14

TheSecretCostumier - New York3

TheSecretCostumier - New York15

TheSecretCostumier - New York30

TheSecretCostumier - New York28

TheSecretCostumier - New York4

TheSecretCostumier - New York25

TheSecretCostumier - New York27

TheSecretCostumier - New York37

TheSecretCostumier - New York36

TheSecretCostumier - New York32

TheSecretCostumier - New York31

TheSecretCostumier - New York26

TheSecretCostumier - New York18

TheSecretCostumier - New York11

TheSecretCostumier - New York8

TheSecretCostumier - New York38

TheSecretCostumier - New York12

For a Woody Allen/Sex and The City/Friends/King of Queens/HIMYM/Will and Grace/Mad Men/ you name it… fan, New York is that one city you’ve never been to, yet know absolutely everything about. Or so you think.

Last year was the first time I did not feel like I was only temporarily living in London, temporarily having a job and temporarily putting off things I would love to do once I settle down a bit – like travelling to the places on top of my wish list. After getting a taste of South East Asia in March, during a lunchtime email session we somehow ended up booking a flight to New York with my sister. 5 days Airbnbing in Williamsburg, in the middle of the weird December heathwave, ensured that I saw in the New Year pretty broke, but it was totally worth it.

I found Central Park pretty decent, the Top of The Rock is better than the Empire State building, I would pick Manhattan Bridge over the Brooklyn, people are super nice, rats are pretty much all over the place at night, the bagels beat the ones on Brick Lane, the Whitney Museum must be the coolest place to hang out, I totally missed out on fabric shopping as I’m a bit of an idiot when it comes to checking opening times I guess, Greenwich village and the banana pudding by Magnolia Bakery are to die for, and while visiting Harlem was probably more shocking than exploring certain parts of third world cities for example, it would have not been the same experience without it.

There is so much to see in the world before I decide to go back to see more of New York, yet this is one of the few cities where I would actually love to spend a few months getting to know my way around it.

(Photos of me shot by my sister @debso)

Travels

New York, New York…

Image

One thought on “New York, New York…

  1. Pingback: Tokyo, my new love | The Secret Costumier

Leave a Reply

