From scratch, Me-Made-May 2016

Me-Made-May 2016: Week 1

Like I might have mentioned earlier, I was not going to take part in this year’s Me-Made-May, as I wasn’t keen on the idea to wear 1 me-made piece/day again, like I did for the previous 2 years. I also didn’t think I had enough garments to ONLY wear me-mades for a whole month. But then I didn’t want to feel left out either. 🙂

I’ve spent a few days in Budapest recently and while waiting for the plane back home, I started listing the things I’ve made and realized I could actually pull it off with a bit of creativity. I knew I had clothes in my wardrobe that I hardly ever wear, so the objective had to be to not only wear as many handmade pieces as I can, but also to be honest with myself and give away those I don’t enjoy wearing at the end of the month.

This first week was really challenging, as we practically skipped spring and went straight into summer. Since I wouldn’t wear most of my skirts without black tights on, my options became even more limited. I pretty much struggled through the week, but as I was taking photos yesterday I just realized it doesn’t have to be as hard as I thought.

It turns out most of my clothes actually work well together, some of the dresses can easily be turned into skirts or can be worn as a top. I managed to come up with 21 different combinations so far using 15 pieces, and this is just the number I cared to take pictures of…

So here is what I wore this week:

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay1-1

Day 1

  • Red trousers: heavily modified Burdastyle pattern(s)
  • Nude bodysuit: Self-drafted/copied from an existing one
  • Bag: Le Barcelona bag, made using scrap leather pieces (current favourite!)

3

Day 4

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay5

Day 5

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay4

Day 6

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay6

Day 7

  • Trousers: Modified Burdastyle pattern(s)
  • Top: Camisole

 

Standard

7 thoughts on “Me-Made-May 2016: Week 1

Leave a Reply

