Me-Made-May 2016, Ready & waiting

Me-Made-May: Week 2

I’m not the kind of person who stands in front of the wardrobe in the morning for ages, trying to figure out what to wear. I usually find a few pieces that I really enjoy wearing and stick with them for as long as the season allows me.

However, having to choose from a very different set of clothes this month makes me totally clueless some mornings, and whenever the weather gets unexpectedly cold and rainy, like this past week, or when I need to dress for a special occasion (going out, travelling, etc), I find myself really challenged to get dressed without being absurdly late for work.

I have spent the weekend in Paris with my sister, where the weather was supposed to be 15 °C degrees, mostly cloudy with some sunshine. Otherwise known as that time you are unsure whether you’ll be boiling after walking a few minutes if you put on too many layers, or you’ll wish you took your winter coat. I am really embracing spring right now and feel like wearing bright colours all the time, so I decided to keep it simple and wear my favourite red trousers for the whole weekend. They are comfy, surprisingly versatile and I managed to dress them up for a night out too. So apart from wearing the aforementioned red pants for what feels like eternity, this is what I wore last week.

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay8

Day 8

  • Top: Self drafted bodysuit
  • Leggings: Self drafted, favourite/would-not-wear-it-outside-the house leggings 🙂

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay9

Day 9

  • Dress: Backless dress, modified Burdastyle pattern
  • Top: Cut-off RTW top (this is the only piece I am allowing myself to wear that I have not made from scratch)

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay10

Day 10

  • Skirt: Infinity dress (made of cotton), worn as a skirt
  • Shirt: Burdastyle pattern, oversized shirt

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay11

Day 11

  • Top: same as above
  • Skirt: same as above

We had a parents’ evening that day, the weather was really unpredictable, so I chose to go with pieces that worked earlier that week.

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay12

Day 12

  • Dress: Backless dress, modified Burdastyle pattern, almost the same as the blue above
  • Kimono: Vintage Japanese, got ripped on the side, then handsewn back that same day…

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay13

Day 13

  • Dress: Wrap dress, Burdastyle pattern-slightly modified
  • Jumper: Ready-to-wear

My favourite outfit of the week! 🙂

TheSecretCostumier - MeMadeMayDay14

Day 14

  • Top: (not visible) camisole+ RTW sweater
  • Trousers: Modified Burdastyle pattern

Day 15

  • Top: Camisole-self drafted/copied from RTW + RTW jumper
  • Trousers: As above

 

Standard

6 thoughts on “Me-Made-May: Week 2

  1. Zoe May says:

    In love with that white Burda shirt ❤ ❤ and your red trousers are amazing!!
    I always find it harder to get dressed in Spring and Fall. Armidale is exactly like you described – freezing cold one minute and boiling the next!

    Ps: those shoes!!! :O

    • Thank you! I think I am beginning to like that shirt more and more every time I wear it! 🙂 So I assume the weather is turning colder on your side of the globe now? Autumn-winter sewing is the best, as long as you enjoy working with wools and all!

Leave a Reply

