From scratch

The crochet bikini top

I tried my hands at making swimwear last year (see the most successful outcome, the bikini brief below), and I have to say it was one of the most difficult things I’ve ever sewn. That was one of the reasons for not attempting to make more before our recent holiday. The other one was the difficulty of finding proper swimsuit fabric in London, so I decided to try a different approach this time.

1

I was never a big fan of crochet bikinis, but I really liked the fact that it can be easily replicated at home. That’s if you know how to crochet, of course. I didn’t. But what is a 6 hour flight good for, if not for learning a new craft, am I right? 🙂

I did learn how to do the first chain super quickly, but doing the second row just made no sense at all. If you do something for a while there might just be a point when it all clicks, and luckily it did. Once I finished one of the cups (by following this video) and could see that it didn’t quite look the way it was supposed to, I was confident enough to go back and start again.

<iframe src=”https://player.vimeo.com/video/177149609?autoplay=1&loop=1&title=0&byline=0&portrait=0&#8243; width=”696″ height=”392″ frameborder=”0″ webkitallowfullscreen mozallowfullscreen allowfullscreen>
By starting again, I mean pulling out the whole thing and redoing it, this time a lot neater. I managed to finish it on our way to the hotel, but unfortunately I could not actually test it in action, as it simply didn’t do the job. The problem is that the cups are really gaping, unless I pull the neck straps tight. If I do that, however, then the strap that goes around my back won’t stay in place, and I still get exposed, just in a different way.

All is not lost though, I think if I undo the straps where the cups meet, make the cups a little longer, turn them under to form a case for the straps like in normal bikinis, then I’ll be able to feed a strap through the case and move the cups where they fit best. Now I just need some inspiration on where to wear it next, and the work can commence… 😉

Standard

2 thoughts on “The crochet bikini top

  1. Looks like a pretty cool outfit for sun-soaking but I guess if you have to hold it together that’s not ideal. Nice combo though, and I’d not have guessed it was the crochet of a novice

    P.S. Never would have guessed you could take a crochet hook in hand luggage!

    • Thank you! I thought it would be nice to have one, so I was a bit disappointed when I saw that it won’t work out, but I didn’t stress too much about the failure.

      P.S.: You can even take knitting needles on the plane! The bamboo ones at least… 😉

Leave a Reply

