The Secret Costumier - The Hungarian Parliament Building ©Robbie Packer

The Secret Costumier - Budapest

The Secret Costumier - Budapest

The Secret Costumier - Budapest - The Hungarian Parliament Building ©Robbie Packer

The Secret Costumier - Budapest

The Secret Costumier - Budapest - The Hungarian Parliament Building ©Robbie Packer

The Secret Costumier - Budapest

The Secret Costumier - Budapest

I’ve spent a weekend in the city where I grew up, and for the first time in my life I got to look at it as a tourist. I moved to London because I felt more at home here than I ever did in Budapest, but I guess the distance, the time spent away and the urge to show le boyfriend a good time, allowed me to see the city in a whole new light.

Budapest is full of pretty buildings, but other than the main attractions, nothing beats getting lost in the Jewish quarter and looking at all the little details on the buildings there, some of which are housing apartments, others hiding those famous “ruin bars”. When I mentioned to my friends that I am planning to take Robbie to Szimpla (the first and most famous such bar), they seemed unimpressed with my choice, because locals think it’s too touristy. It does have more tourists than locals I must admit, but for a good reason. It’s the still the quirkiest, biggest, most fun of them all, and the farmers’ market on Sunday morning with live jazz and great quality food was just unbeatable.

We also went to the biggest bath in Budapest (Széchenyi), which in spite of the freezing weather was a fabulous choice. There’s nothing quite like chilling in a pool of hot water, outdoors, after spending a day walking all around the city.

There are way more dishes to try than patience in me to mention them, but if you’re only gonna eat one meal, have a lángos. It’s a salty dough, fried in oil with different toppings, but the one I would strongly suggest you to go for is the sour cream & cheese one. It. Is. Divine.

Long story short, I think what I am trying to say is that I had an amazing time, especially because I was able to totally be in holiday mode without all the struggle of making decisions about where to go and what to eat. So if any of you Ladies and Gents are planning a trip there, I’m more than happy to shower you with recommendations. 😉

Travels

Budapest

Image

12 thoughts on “Budapest

  1. It looks like exactly my kind of place. It’s been on my wish list for ages, so maybe it’s time to bump it up a little! I always find it really weird to be a tourist in either Brighton, when I have people visiting, or in Brussels, when I go back to visit every now and then.

    • Yes, I agree, it’s quite difficult to see old places with new eyes, but once you get into it it’s so much fun! Visiting during winter really wasn’t too bad and I guess there were way less tourists than usually, but if you do decide to go I suggest you go during spring or summer when the weather is lovely and all the gardens of cafes and bars are open. 😉

    • Thank you! The river actually used to completely freeze over, although that was a long-long time ago. It was kind of refreshing after the mild London weather, except when we decided to grab a bite on the street… 🙂

  2. wow, such beautiful pics! and of course it makes me wanna go to Budapest (it’s been on my list for a while now). thanks heaps for the info! i have to agree too about having fun playing tourist in your own hometown (or ex-hometown), finding nostalgic and new things at the same time is exciting. glad you had a great trip! 🙂

  3. That has been on our list of destinations we wanted to visit – clearly it would bear consideration. Your photographs are gorgeous but the one that caught my greedy eye was the lángos. I’m so glad that you explained what it was 🙂

Leave a Reply

