From scratch

The Vogue dress

Either out of laziness or because I’m too impatient, but I hardly ever try new patterns these days. I made an exception recently with the Vogue 1341 and I am pretty glad I did!

I bought this pattern a few years ago and have been looking for the right fabric every time I entered a fabric shop. I finally found a fairly big piece of this mauve/deep purple fabric in a charity shop, on sale for £2, so even though the only colour out there that I really don’t like is purple, I still went for it.

 At home I realised that it’s a bit less than the length I needed, but by ignoring the grain lines on the sleeves, and cutting one of the sleeves out of two pieces, I managed to make the dress out of it.

It’s probably the most challenging, yet fun pattern I have ever worked with. The front and most of the back of the dress are made up of one pattern piece that has darts and pleats to control the drapes. Once the sleeves are set in, they make up parts of the back.

I was supposed to insert a zip into the back seam, but even after taking in a lot from both the front and back seams, it was loose and stretchy enough for me to just pull it on over my head, so I decided not to. There is still some excess fabric at the lower back, but It doesn’t bother me much, and since the back and the front are the same piece, taking in more fabric at that back seam could have an effect on the drapes on the front too.

Once the dress was sewn up, it didn’t quite look like it did on the photo. The folds were not exactly where they were supposed to be, and the draping seemed way less dramatic. I saw very few dresses made up on other blogs, but I remember one where the lady decided not to insert the lining and just wore a slip underneath. I was quite reluctant to make the lining too, but as soon as I sewed the lining and the dress together where the seam line is in the front, everything fell into place and it looked just like the red dress on the photo. I think it’s an amazing little trick, but there should be a note to let sewists know that lining the dress is not optional, it’s the key to get the design! 🙂

I really love this dress, it came together in a night, but right now I am really struggling to find a place, or the right occasion to wear it to, mostly because the shoes that would go with it aren’t really meant for daily wear, and at this point of my life I am not willing to sacrifice comfort for style, so for now it stays in the safety of my wardrobe. 😉

Standard

8 thoughts on “The Vogue dress

  1. what an interesting looking dress, and you look so great with it! never seen anything like it.. will have to look for that pattern, as i would really love to have my version

  2. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2017: The Summary | The Secret Costumier

  3. I love your dress too! It never fails to me amaze me how many patterns there are out of print that were truly unique. It’s not easy (I wouldn’t imagine never having done it) to design a pattern that builds in drape! Gorgeous. I think you could wear this dress anywhere.

    • Thank you! I agree, whoever designed it was a genius. Oh, and let’s not forget about the person writing the instructions so well. They did an amazing job.

Leave a Reply

